Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Making Traditional Fettuccine all' Alfredo

Hold the cream please!

I’m sure I will get some feedback on this video and post, but the only Fettuccine all’Alfredo made with cream is the version we can all get in America. If you visit Rome and order Fettuccine all’ Alfredo it’s all about the butter and cheese. Of course, the noodles play an essential part in the process.

Today’s video is all about tradition. I learned this process from my grandparents as a young child growing up in Catania, Sicily. My grandfather told me a story of how on a trip to Rome with my grandmother years ago, went to the original restaurant where Alfredo Di Lelio made his famous pasta. While there, my grandfather asked for the recipes, and without any hesitation, Alfredo taught my grandfather, who took that home to Catania to make for the villagers. It was a hit. Later as I grew up loving to cook I was taught the same recipe.

Please enjoy the video!

Buon Appetito!

For reference though here’s a little intro from Forbes Magazine about the origination of Fettuccine all’Alfredo just in case there are those who don’t believe.

Fettuccine all’Alfredo was created in 1914 by Alfredo Di Lelio, who had four years earlier opened a restaurant in Rome, Italy, under his first name on the Via della Scrofa. At the time Alfredo’s wife had given birth to their son Armando but was left without an appetite. Alfredo tried everything, until he made a plate of fresh fettuccine and swirled it in a pan with Parmigiano and butter. One bite and his wife’s appetite came roaring back, and Alfredo knew he was on to something. read more

0 Comments
DelPaggio's Cucina
DelPaggio's Cucina
Authors
Mark & Patti Clifford